Create a stunning Amazon product comparison chart (& make $$$)

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If you an affiliate marketer looking for guidance on how to craft & design an Amazon product comparison chart and track your views & clicks, you’ve come to the right place!

Below you will find several tutorial videos to walk you though using Table Labs for your compare chart design, from creation to editing and tracking.

To follow this tutorial and start creating stunning Amazon comparison tables yourself, you need a TableLabs account.

Amazon product comparision charts sample view

How to create a Amazon product comparison chart?

After logging into your Table Labs account, you can start new charts through your chart dashboard by clicking ‘Add Chart’.

How to add products to your Amazon product comparison chart?

Using the search bar, you find products listed on Amazon either by name or ASIN.

By clicking on the plus sign, you add products to your Amazon comparison table.

How to Edit or Move Columns and Rows of your Amazon comparison chart?

Key to a successful product comparison chart is that you tailor it to your content and audience.

An easy way to adapt the charts to your liking, is by editing the column & rows of your table.

Rows and columns can be set in any order.

How to design your Amazon comparison chart?

Once created, you can craft the desired product comparison table design.

In the chart preview tab, you can modify the appearance. Here, you can choose the colors for rows, fonts and buttons.

With TableLabs, the themes of your chart are easily reproducible. Once designed, you can save your theme. For the next table, you can import your product comparison design with the click of a button.

Designing a chart to fit your website experience, is an essential step for affiliate table personalization.

Personalization for product comparison chart example
Personalizing your Amazon comparison table design with TableLabs

How do I create an Amazon product showcase box?

Creating a Amazon chart with only a single product, shines spotlight on one specific product.

This can be helpful for in-between an article, for instance, summarizing product features discussed in a previous paragraph.

More details on how to implement & design a Amazon Product box in our TableLabs Academy post.

How to create an Amazon Product Showcase box
How to create an Amazon Product Showcase box with TableLabs

How to edit a live product comparison chart and update out of stock items?

After going live with an Amazon product comparison table on your website, you can still make changes to it.

The best thing is: Changes only take seconds to be applied and will be automatically updated through TableLabs, you don’t have to re-insert a table to your website.

Especially if an item is out of stock, you want to update the item as soon as possible.

How to insert a Product Comparison Chart to WordPress?

After creating your chart in TableLabs, this video shows how you can publish your new product comparison chart on your website.

While TableLabs is not a WordPress plugin (yet), to implement a Amazon comparison table to your website, you only have to copy & paste a URL.

If you use a website editor other than WordPress, just copy the embed code in your code view.

How to Insert a product comparison table using Thrive Architect or Thrive Editor?

Many of our users leverage Thrive for their website. Analogous to using simple wordpress, just copy the table embed code into a Thrive custom htlm box.

Click update and your Amazon product comparison table is ready to go!

How to track views, clicks, click through rate in your chart dashboard?

After logging into TableLabs, your chart dashboard lists all of your compare charts and the corresponding views, clicks, click through rate (CTR) and earnings per click (EPC).

This helps you to analyze which of your Amazon product comparison chart is be more successful than others. You can approximate your earnings per chart by entering the earnings per click field in your chart dashboard.

Understanding How to Use the EPC and Earnings Column on Chart Dashboard?

Your Amazon associate earnings summary breaks up how much earnings / commission you received for how many clicks. Add EPC to your chart dashboard to understand how well a Amazon product comparison table is converting.

How do I find my Amazon API Credentials (Amazon Access ID and Secret Access Key)?

TableLabs uses the Amazon API to automatically pull in images, price, descriptions and more for your product comparison chart.

For more background on the program, read our ultimate Amazon Affiliate FAQ collection.

Here is how you find your Amazon credentials:

  1. Login to your Amazon Associates Accounts here:
  2. Scroll to “Tools” then “Product Advertising API” (shown below)
  3. Click Manage Credentials
  4. Create New or Use Existing Credentials (Amazon may prompt you to login to AWS first).  Then just click “create new access key” or use an existing key if you have one and would like to.
How to create you Amazon API to automate your Amazon product comparison chart
How to create you Amazon API to automate your Amazon product comparison chart

How do I assign my Amazon Tracking ID to a product comparison chart?

Your Amazon affiliate access allows you to create multiple tracking ID’s. Having more than one tracking ID can be helpful to track more granular the success of an individual Amazon compare chart, product categories or any other segment of your choosing.

TableLabs allows you to assign a different tracking ID to each product comparison chart.

How to monetize international traffic for your Amazon product comparison chart using OneLink

With the default Amazon US affiliate links, your product comparison table is only monetizing traffic from the US. In case you have visitors from Canada, UK, Italy, France, Spain, Germany and / or Japan, you can sign up for Amazon OneLink and monetize your global traffic..

How to get access to TableLabs?

You want to create an Amazon product comparison chart with ease but you are not yet a TableLabs customer?

Go to our website and register today: Check pricing for our Affiliate tool for Amazon product comparison charts

Do you have more questions?

If you still have questions after watching the videos, please contact our support team.

Thank you for your interest in TableLabs !!

37 FAQ to kickstart your Amazon Affiliate commissions

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Affiliates beware – here is the ultimate Amazon Affiliate FAQ.

We compiled quick answers to some of the most common inquiries we received over the past few years on questions on the program and becoming an Amazon associate.

New as Amazon Affiliate and wondering how to get started? You came to the right place !

To give you a complete list with relevant details, we went through the nitty gritty details of the operating agreement.

Without further a due, here are the collected insights.

Amazon Affiliate FAQ

What is the Amazon Associates Program?

The Amazon Associates is the affiliate program. Associates can monetize their traffic by referring products from to their audience. Participants earn a commission with every successful product referral. Given the large product selection, Amazon associates might be the largest affiliate network in the world.

How big is the Amazon Associates program?

Given the large product selection and easy sign up, Amazon Associate is one of the biggest affiliate networks in the world. Based on data from supermetrics, there are over 900,000 active affiliates

How much money can I make as Amazon Affiliate?

Your commission depends on how many views your affiliate links get, the number of clicks and what products your referral buys (if any). Based on Earnings Per Click & Click Through Rate benchmarks, a website with 10,000 views (not clicks) should make between $36 and $600.

How do I sign up for Amazon Associates?

  1. Go to the Amazon Associates website
  2. Click “Sign Up”
  3. Enter you account information such as name and address
  4. List your websites and mobile apps that you use to display affiliate links
  5. Complete your profile by entering you preferred ID and website description
  6. Enter how you drive traffic & monetization plan to let Amazon understand your business model
  7. Enter your payment & tax information, which is needed to receive commissions
  8. Start using Amazon Associates

Why should I sign up to be an Amazon Associate?

The sign up to be an Amazon associate is free and quick. Given that Amazon is the largest ecommerce stores with over 350 million products, customers have natural trust in to your product referrals.

For what referrals does Amazon Associates receive a commission?

  1. Fixed product dependent commission rate for qualifying purchases
  2. Fixed dollar amount for bounty events, which are sign up or subscription referrals, such as for Prime Video, Amazon Music and Audible trials or the first Amazon Fresh products purchase
  3. Prime video channel subscriptions and paid memberships, such as the NBA league pass
  4. Trade in programs for books and consumer electronics in the United States

How much commission do I earn as Amazon Associates for qualifying purchases?

Fixed Standard Commission Income Rates for Specific Product CategoriesFixed Commission Income Rates
Luxury Beauty, Luxury Stores Beauty, Amazon Coins10.00%
Digital Music, Physical Music, Handmade, Digital Videos5.00%
Physical Books, Kitchen, Automotive 4.50%
Amazon Fire Tablet Devices, Amazon Kindle Devices, Amazon Fashion Women’s, Men’s & Kids Private Label, Luxury Stores Fashion, Apparel, Amazon Cloud Cam Devices, Fire TV Edition Smart TVs, Amazon Fire TV Devices, Amazon Echo Devices, Ring Devices, Watches, Jewelry, Luggage, Shoes, and Handbags & Accessories4.00%
Toys, Furniture, Home, Home Improvement, Lawn & Garden, Pets Products, Headphones, Beauty, Musical Instruments, Business & Industrial Supplies, Outdoors, Tools, Sports, Baby Products3.00%
PC, PC Components, DVD & Blu-Ray2.50%
Televisions, Digital Video Games2.00%
Amazon Fresh, Physical Video Games & Video Game Consoles, Grocery, Health & Personal Care1.00%
Gift Cards; Wireless Service Plans; Alcoholic Beverages; Digital Kindle Products purchased as a subscription; Food prepared and delivered from a restaurant; Amazon Appstore, Prime Now, or Amazon Pay Places0.00%
All Other Categories4.00%
Amazon Associate Commission rates by product category

What is an Amazon affiliate qualifying purchase or sale that is eligible for a commission?

A “Qualifying Purchase” is an affiliate sale, where the customer was referred by a special link and the purchase occurred within 24 hours. Also, the product was paid by and shipped to the customer. If products are added to the shopping card, a commission is e earned up to 89 days after referral.

What is the minimum payment I can receive?

In order for Amazon to pay out your earned commissions, you need valid payment & tax information. The minimum amount you can receive depends on your payment method. The minimum payout is $10 for Deposits and Gift Cards and $100 for checks. For checks, Amazon charges a $15 processing fee.

Can I use Amazon content for my website?

Yes, but only if it’s current. Amazon has a rigid content policy and only allows you to display the latest product descriptions, images and prices. To avoid having outdated information and staying Amazon compliant, associates should leverage non-Amazon content, paraphrase descriptions or use the Amazon Product Advertisement API.

Can Amazon Associates use the Amazon logo on my blog?

You are allowed to use the Amazon marks with a corresponding affiliate link. Only few Amazon logos are authorized, and it is not allowed to modify the logo in size, color, font or any other way. The Amazon prime logo is not authorized and therefore cannot be displayed.

What content is not allowed for Amazon Associates?

  1. Content that is considered harmful, such as sexually explicit, violent, illegal or hateful.
  2. False or deceptive product descriptions
  3. Content directed at children under 13 years of age
  4. Infringe the intellectual property rights or trademark of Amazon or any of it’s affiliates

If I am an Amazon affiliate, can I also promote products from other affiliate networks?

It is allowed to promote products from different vendors, including Amazon, on your website. Using more than one network is a chance to diversify your commission. Check with you other networks, if they allow multiple affiliate partners as well.

Can I join Amazon Affiliate program if I live outside the United States?

Everyone can become an Amazon affiliate, independent of your location. However, your affiliate links are bound by the affiliate country you signed up for. If you are not in the US, customers who click on your affiliate links, will still be send to, and not to your country specific page.

Do I have to disclose that I am an Amazon affiliate?

Yes, Amazon affiliate’s guidelines state that you have to disclose your affiliate status and that you earn a commission when users buy a product. Most affiliates also want to be transparent with their audience by clearly stating their relationship.

How do I compare two items on Amazon?

You can compare Amazon products by showing how each item is differentiated. Start by listing out key product features, and then contrast each of the products based on those criteria. Showing where features overlap or differ, is a great comparison method.

What is an Amazon comparison table?

An Amazon comparison table is a chart that differentiates two or more products. The table shows specifics for each product, such as an image, a title & description, the price or other highlights. It also has a call to action button.

What is an Amazon Call to Action button?

The anchor text for Affiliate links is usually referred to as Call To Action button. The most common Amazon Call To Action buttons are “Buy now” or “Check Prices”. Affiliates usually tailor their buttons to their overall content strategy.

Do I need a website or blog to make money as an Amazon Affiliate?

No, you don’t need a website. Amazon affiliate generate commission through product referrals. These referrals can be via a website, but also via social media, email or other mediums. It is only important that your referred customer used your affiliate link.

What types of Amazon Affiliate link exist?

  1. Product Links created from the Associates portal
  2. Amazon SiteStripe
  3. Banners
  4. Native Shopping Ads
  5. Mobile Popover
  6. Link to Any Page
  7. Product Advertising API
  8. Amazon OneLink

How do I create an associates product link?

  1. Log into the Amazon Associate Portal
  2. Click on “Product Links” under the “Product Linking” tab
  3. Search for your product, either by keyword or ASIN
  4. Click “Get Link” to select product
  5. Customize text and/or the image for the link
  6. Copy the highlighted HTML code
  7. Paste the HTML code to your website

What is Amazon SiteStripe?

SiteStripe is a banner appearing on the top of the website for Amazon associates. It allows associates to create affiliate links while browsing the regular website. With SiteStripe, associates don’t need to go through a separate portal to create an design their affiliate links.

How to get an amazon affiliate link with SiteStripe in five steps

  1. Create an Amazon Associate account.
  2. Click on the product you would like to recommend.
  3. The SiteStripe banner appears at the very top of the page
  4. Click “GetLink” for Text on the top left, generates your affiliate link
  5. Copy and integrate the link on your website

What is an Amazon banner?

An Amazon banner is a rectangular advertisement graphic that can be displayed on any website. Amazon banners show products from a selected category, such as “Gourmet Food” or “Pets”. Product advertisements are chosen by Amazon rather than by the website owner.

What sizes can Amazon banners be?

  1. 234 x 60
  2. 88 x 31
  3. 120 x 60
  4. 120 x 90
  5. 125 x 125
  6. 468 x 60
  7. 728 x 90

What are Amazon Native Shopping Ads?

Native Shopping Ads are dynamic product recommendation that can be placed on an Amazon affiliate website. Products displayed are curated from Amazon and not from the website owner. Product recommendations are given based on the visiting user, websites content and affiliates selection.

What are the three types of Amazon Native Shopping Ads?

  1. Recommendation Ads are fully automated product displays in a grid, list or strip format.
  2. Search Ads display products from a certain category and allow the visitor to interact with the ad.
  3. Custom Ads are similar to recommendation ads, but the products shown are selected by the affiliate.

What are Amazon Mobile Popover?

Mobile Popover are Amazon advertisement for mobile display that appear as a banner at the bottom of the screen. Popovers display product linked in the website and stay on screen for 15 seconds or until the users dismisses the ad.  Given the more prominent display, link engagement is up to 30% higher with regular text links.

What is Amazon Link To Any Page?

Associates can earn a commission for general referrals. Link To Any Page builds an affiliate link to a specific product line subcategory (such as Automotive interior accessories), search results for any keyword or any specific site. Associates receive a commission for visitor buying any product up to 24h after referral.

How to create a Link To Any Page Amazon Affiliate Link?

  1. Log into your Amazon Associates account.
  2. Click the “Link To Any Page” button under the “Product Linking” tab.
  3. Select one of the three link options, Favorite Destination, Search Results or Any Page.
  4. Based on your link option, modify either product line & subcategory, product line & keyword or enter a URL.
  5. Name your link.
  6. Copy the HTML code and paste it into your website.

What is the Amazon Product Advertising API?

The Amazon Product Advertising API gives you direct access to product data, such as title, description, price, promotions and reviews. Using the API, product information, such as product availability or price, stays current, ensuring that affiliates stay Amazon compliant.

How do I get access to the Amazon Product Advertising API?

  1. Sign up for an Amazon Associates account
  2. Complete at least three qualifying sales within the first 180 days
  3. Have an approved Amazon Affiliate Account
  4. Comply with the Amazon operating agreement
  5. Request access through the Amazon Associates portal

How can I use the Amazon Product Advertising API?

Website owners with knowledge of JSON and HTTP methods can build their use cases directly by reading through the API documentation. Most tools for Amazon Affiliates, such as the TableLabs comparison table software, allow you to leverage the API without any coding knowledge.

What does it mean that my Amazon Product Advertising API is throttled?

A throttled API means that you reached the maximum number of API requests you are allowed per day. Amazon limits how often affiliates can call the API. Limits start at one request per second and a daily maximum of 8640 requests. Limits increase with every affiliate sale and are adjusted every 30 days.

What is Amazon OneLink?

Amazon OneLink is a free service that bundles an associates’ accounts from different geographies. An affiliate link created with OneLink, redirects affiliate clicks to the appropriate country page of your visitor. The service is available for the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, Spain, France, Germany, Japan and Italy.

How do I setup Amazon OneLink?

  1. Log into your Amazon Associates account
  2. Click on “OneLink” under the “tools” tab
  3. Click on “Link your accounts”
  4. Select the tracking IDs that you want to bundle with OneLink
  5. Set default tracking ID for each country

Do Amazon Affiliate links expire?

Amazon affiliate links do not expire. They stay active as long a you have a valid tracking ID. If you change you tracking ID or your your affiliate account was suspended, your affiliate link will become inactive.

The ultimate Amazon Comparison Table guide to increase commissions

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You are an Amazon Associate looking to download insights for a high conversion Amazon Comparison Table?

Look no further.

Here is the ultimate collection of the TableLabs Academy insights.

From chart creation to marketing to tracking and optimization.

Here are our best insights.

The following teasers for our TableLabs academy lessons, providing guidance on chart creation, content optimization through great Call To Action and personalization, monetizing international traffic and much more.

Find your niche and double down on personalization

Finding the right niche for your to pursue is the first step.

It all starts with your skill set: What is a segment where you have insights? Where can you add value?

The next step is personalization. This will defining criteria for your success.


You can have the best insights. But if you’re unable to demonstrate your unique skill set to your audience, you will see low engagement.

HAVING a skill set, is different from DEMONSTRATING.

The way to achieve the latter, is by making sure, every post, compare chart and button, makes it crystal clear that YOU are the expert.

Personalization makes you successful. It’s worth it.

Personalization for Product Comparison tables has positive impact on customer engagement
Personalization for Product Comparison tables has positive impact on customer engagement

In practice, it is not always straight forward to think about ways to add your personal note.

In our Academy lesson on personalization for your Amazon Comparison Table, you’ll find practical advice to optimize your audience engagement.

Drive conversion with a great Call To Action button

As an Amazon associate, you produce content that helps your your audience to decide which product to buy.

Describing what products options exist and which features to consider are ideally create interest in your product recommendation.

A Call To Action button, such es ‘Buy Now!’ can convert interest into a commission.

Call to Action framework for Amazon affiliates
Dimensions to consider when choosing your Call To Action

Your button needs to send the right message, thoughtfully placed and tailored to your content. There is no one-size-fits-all approach.

Our framework helps you to find YOUR Best Call To Action button.

Create Amazon Comparison Tables for a product summary

Creating custom tables and keeping them current is a hassle. Leveraging an affiliate website plugin saves you time and energy.

With TableLabs, Amazon affiliates can create a product comparison table in minutes.

Each table can be easily copied & pasted to your website.

TableLabs pulls automatically descriptions, images & prices for your affiliate products and keeps them always up to date.

In our Amazon product comparison chart tutorial, you’ll find more videos on how to edit & implement your chart.

Spotlight you key recommendation with an Amazon Product Box

While Amazon affiliates need to provide content on product recommendation, you also don’t want to overwhelm your audience with information.

There is a balance point between information relevance and abundance.

Showcasing a single product helps you to distill information and recap key points.

The problem with the Amazon native ads is that they completely lack personalization and look like cheap advertisement.

With a tailored product showcase box, you get the best of both worlds. Short & sweet information without sacrificing your unique voice.

Levering an affiliate website builder, helps you to create boxes with a personal note in minutes.

In our walk-through, you can see Amazon Product Box optimization and design options.

How to create an Amazon Product Showcase box
How to create an Amazon Product Showcase box with TableLabs

Check out the all TableLabs features and start creating beautiful Amazon comparison charts with ease.

Understanding how a customer flows through your sales process

The Affiliate Marketing Funnel is a framework to visualize your customer journey.

Being able to pin point your competitive edge in your funnel, helps you to double down on success factors and eliminate commission leaks.

Your funnel has different stages, the action to resolve a problem depends on where exactly your focus needs to be.

To illustrate, imagine visitors come to your website, but your Amazontable rarely gets any clicks. Or your table gets clicks, but you don’t earn commissions. Or you don;t even have visitors to begin with.

Affiliate Marketing funnel with respective key metric to observe by stage.
Affiliate Marketing funnel with respective key metric to observe by stage.

Finding the right spot to take action on is essential to see great results.

Here is our in-depth review of the Amazon Affiliate Marketing Funnel and practical tips on what actions you can take.

Monetize your international traffic with OneLink

Most Amazon Associates only use their standard affiliate link.

If you are an affiliate in the United States, that all of your link traffic flows to

If I am Canadian or German customer, I don’t want to land on, since I don’t have an account there. I want to be redirected to or, respectively.

OneLink does exactly that. It redirects your international traffic to the appropriate domain. Through that, you start monetizing your international traffic.

How to enable OneLink, the limitations of the program and things to consider, read our TableLabs Academy Amazon OneLink guide.

That brings us to the end of our list for best practices for Amazon Comparison Table.

Feedback? Comment or write to us – we love to hear your thoughts.

More Insights delivered straight in your inbox – sign up for the TableLabs Academy Newsletter.

13 insights what makes an Amazon Affiliate Product Comparison Chart AMAZING

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Thinking about using a product comparison chart?

You want to understand the dynamics behind views, clicks and commission for your Amazon affiliate business?

This guide is a deep dive on what makes an Amazon affiliate marketing strategy work using product comparison chart.

It’s worth it – the top affiliates have +13x as many views, get +23x more clicks and earn +3x more commissions.

Key Performance Indicator for amazon affiliates product comparison chart
Data: Key Performance Indicator by peer group, sample: 41,989 product comparison charts

Following best practices go a long way.

1. Why should you use a product comparison chart?

As an Amazon affiliate business, you are offering research on a product category that helps a person to take a decision whether to buy a product and which product to buy.

A product comparison table answers the two key question your audience has, namely

  1. Which products are available by presenting multiple options in one view and
  2. What product should I buy by outlining the decision criteria (like features, price, images, ..).

Alternatively, in case you want to space out your recommendation, fill in just one single product per table. This gives you a product highlight box with consistent format for all your affiliate links across your article.

2. How many products should a product comparison chart have?

A table can take on any shape or size, a few or a lot of products.

It’s important not to overload charts, viewers do appreciate to have the most relevant, rather than all, options displayed.

Looking at the average clicks per item position, we can see that, the further below the item, the lower the average number of clicks.

For instance, the top slot, the first item in the table averages 250 clicks or almost 6 times (!!) as much as an item in tenth position (only 43 clicks).

Too many products are diluting the focus on key products. Adding a lot of items to a compare chart, while offering more options, rarely turns into clicks. The average number of clicks for items after position tenth is only 17.

Average clicks per product comparision chart position
Data: Average clicks per item by position on table, sample: 41,989 product comparison charts

3. What products work on a product comparison chart?

A common misconception to think that a compare chart only works for cheaper products.

The truth is, any price category can work but it’s important to understand that depending on the price category of your affiliate products, your customer behavior is going to be different.

This also means, that Amazon affiliate key performance indicators like clicks and views, vary drastically. It is important to break down aggregated statistics, in order to make it comparable to your business.

Views, clicks, Click through rate CTR and earnings per click EPC for porduct comparison chart by price category
Data: Average key performance indicators for tables by price category, sample: 6,797 product comparison charts

What we see in the data is, the lower end products tend to get more views, fewer clicks but a higher average Earnings Per Click. People that look for simpler products tend to be more need-driven. If they see something they like, they are likely going to buy it – that is why we are seeing a higher earnings per click.

Products on the upper end get more clicks and a better conversion. For larger purchases, people want more education on their product and click, but might not be willing to buy on the spot.

The net effect is that on average, the average earnings per table are surprisingly similar across price categories. While the average is comparable, depending on if your compare chart is outperforming or underperforming, the differences in earnings per table is significant.

This means, in theory, a product comparison table can works for any products, in any price category.

4. How should I customize my product comparison table to my content?

Customization of a product compare chart is essential for setting up your affiliate business for success. A copy & paste Amazon product comparison summary can be seen as low quality advertising.

To tailor your product comparison table, three simple actions can significantly improve your results.

  1. Assign a top pick: From all products listed on your table, highlight the one product you would recommend the most. Top picks get on average more than twice as many clicks as other items.
  2. Assign a five-star rating: Your viewers don’t want any product, they want the best. A top rating is a good method of making that distinctions.
  3. Create a custom column: The most underrated action on this list. Your viewers want to understand a product comparison table in context with your content. Go beyond image & description and add custom columns, like GB for memory cards, watt for blenders and battery duration for … battery’s.
clicks and conversation impact by customizing a product comparison chart
Data: Impact on clicks and Click Through Rate through table customization, sample: 41,797 product comparison charts

It’s important to tailor columns, ratings and highlights to your content and audience. A product comparison table design tool, like TableLabs, helps you to create and modify your compare chart, allowing you to adapt individual tables in minutes.

5. How do I create a product comparison chart?

TableLabs allows you to create and design a product comparison table within minutes, automatically pulling Images, description & price and adds all products into a table template, that you only need to copy on your website.

To start designing a chart, simply click the ‘create chart’ in your customer dashboard and then click ‘add products’. In our Amazon search bar. Here, you can find products by name or ASIN. A simple click on the plus logo of each item will add the product to your compare chart.

You can edit the table to your liking (e.g. changing the color theme, sorting rows & columns and designing a Call To Action button). To integrate the chart in your website, click on ‘Embed’. This shows your table code that you need to copy and paste it into your website editor (like wordpress) in the text/code tab and save.

Besides simplicity in comparison chart design, your TableLabs dashboard tracks the number of views and clicks for all of your tables, giving you a perspective on what is working (& what is not).

If you are not a TableLabs customer? More information on our Amazon product comparison chart tool pricing.

More details on how to create a table – click here for to see a TableLabs tutorial.

6. What is the best Call To Action button?

Your content informs your audience on their buying decision. Which product is the best, which features to consider, which price to buy at?

Your Call To Action (CTA) button converts interest into (potential) commissions. Clicking your CTA, such as ‘Buy now!’. enables your customer to buy a product from your affiliate partner.

To maximize commission, you want to convert your readers into clickers. Key is – Different buttons lead to different click through rates.

Click through rate for best call to action buttons
Data: Median Click Through Rate for top ten Call To Action buttons, sample: 39.240 buttons used in product comparison tables

How well a button works does not only depend on which button you choose – but also where.

A CTA needs to fits in to the holistic experience of your location and website.

To help you decide, the Amazon affiliates Call To Action framework helps you to find your best choice.

Call to Action framework for Amazon affiliates
Dimensions to consider when choosing your Call To Action

For instance, for an affordable product, addressing an urgent need, in a competitive market, your Call To Action can be a more aggressive ‘Buy Now!’.

In contrast, an expensive product that people only scout for a bargain, a less aggressive Call To Action, ideally highlighting an additional piece of information, like ‘Check price’, might work better.

For more examples and an in-depth walk through the Call To Action affiliate framework, click here for a full TableLabs academy lesson on the best Call To Action buttons.

7. What is the affiliate marketing funnel?

The affiliate marketing funnel describes your customers’ journey.

Each stop on the journey is a juncture. Customers decide to stay (clicking your affiliate link after viewing your content) or exit (view but not click; click but not buy).

Affiliate Marketing Funnel: Understanding your customer journey to drive more commissions
Affiliate Marketing Funnel: Understanding your customer journey to drive more commissions

To understand the levers that improve your affiliate business, it is crucial to narrow down which part of the funnel to tackle. Only then, the actions you take can than be targeted and effective.

Depending on which part of the funnel you target, the levers to achieve higher commission are different..

For example, if you have many views, but few clicks, this indicates low conversion and that your call to action can be improved.

Or you see many views, many clicks but low commissions. The reason here might be a disconnect between your recommendation and the description on your partner page.

Narrowing down, where in the affiliate funnel you can improve, helps you to derive at the right action.

Click here for a full academy lesson on the affiliate marketing funnel.

8. How many views should my product comparison table get?

The number of views you get depends on your marketing strategy.

A good compare chart should bring over 1,000 views. While almost half the tables only get a few hundred views, the top tables can bring views north of 10,000.

Number of views for product comparison chart
Data: Chart views per peer group, Underperform (25 quartile), Median and Outperform (75 quartile), sample: 41,989 product comparison charts

Let’s look at how you can calculate views for YOUR article.

If you use outbound marketing, such as google ads, the number of views is a direct function of your budget and how much you pay for a click. If you budget is $100 and the cost per click is $2, you will get 50 views (= 100 / 2).

How to estimate your article views for outbound marketing
How to estimate your article views for outbound marketing

For inbound marketing, or content marketing, your expected views can be estimated by looking at the number of keyword searches and your market share. You can get the number of searches for a specific article via a keyword analyzer tool. If you compare the number of searches to the views of articles you have already published, you get your market share.

How to estimate your market share to estimate your affiliate marketing views for inbound marketing
How to estimate your market share to estimate your affiliate marketing views

In the example above, we can see that our market share is around 1%.

If you want to write a new article about a similar product, such as ‘best shaver’, which might have 50,000 searches, your expected views would be 500 (= 50,000 * 1%).

9. How many clicks should my product comparison chart get?

The number of clicks depends on your number of views and your ability to convert interest (a view) into an action (a click).

A product comparison table usually ends up getting more clicks than an individual product highlight box. A table summarizes all the information and urges your viewer to make a decision. Especially in longer articles, +3,000 words, individual links can get lost.

If we compare clicks for a table to single items, we can see that the number of clicks for the median comparison table is more than 7 times (!!) as much as for individual items.

clicks comparison between affiliate links and product comparison chart
Data: Clicks per chart and individual items by peer group, Underperform (25 quartile), Median and Outperform (75 quartile), sample: 41,989 product comparison charts

Secondly, especially for the successful tables (high number of clicks), the difference is increasing to more than 8 times. In our study, great compare charts outperformed individual product highlights by clicks.

10. What is the Click Through Rate?

While views and clicks measure the attention volume of your comparison table, the Click Through Rate (CTR) is a proxy of how well your content is converting viewers into buyers.

CTR measures the conversion of views of your compare chart to clicks on your affiliate link. The metric is key to assess how engaged your audience is after reading your content.

A high CTR indicates that your content is relevant to your audience. A high share of viewers follow your recommendations and click on your affiliate link. In contrast a low CTR indicates a content problem or an uncompelling Call To Action.

A good CTR is 20% or higher – starting at 11%, you are already above average. Note that the rate varies depending on your recommended products, the need it addresses and the price category.

Cklick through rate CTR for product comparison table
Data: Click Through rate for three peer groups, Underperform (25 quartile), Median and Outperform (75 quartile), sample: 41.989 product comparison tables

11. What is Earnings Per Click?

Earnings per click (EPC) measures the ratio between the clicks your affiliate links generate and the commission you earn.

Most affiliate programs usually break out clicks and commissions in their reports. If you are an Amazon associate, you can find your commission and clicks under your commission summary on your earnings report.

If you made $1000 in commission and had 500 clicks, your Earnings per click are $2 (= 1000 / 500).

EPC varies greatly depending on your product category, Click Through Rate and content quality. Only the top affiliates have a EPC of $1 or larger, the median dollar earned per click is $0.20.

Earnings per click ETC for product comparison table
Data: Earnings Per click Click Through rate per peer group, Underperform (25 quartile), Median and Outperform (75 quartile), sample: 71 Amazon affiliates using product comparison charts

An affiliate tool, such as TableLabs, allows you to track your clicks (or even EPC) by product comparison table.

12. How can I estimate my affiliate earnings?

You can estimate your earnings for a product comparison table by looking at the keyword search volume as well as your market share, Click Through Rate and Earnings Per Click.

How to estimate affiliate marketing earnings
How to estimate affiliate marketing earnings per article

Let’s say you want to write an article on the best TVs. Assume, ‘Best TVs’ is searched for on google 30,000 times and in previous articles, 3% of the search volume landed on your page. In this case, you could expect 900 views (= 30,000 * 3%). If your average Click Through Rate is 10%, the article likely gets around 90 clicks (= 900 * 10%). If your Earnings per Click is $2, you can estimate to earn $180 (= 90 * $2).

13. How do I use Return on Investment to prioritize my content marketing strategy?

You can prioritize articles based on the Return on Investment. Return on Investment is the ratio of your (expected) earnings, called the return, and your investment.

The investment describes the effort required. This could be the your cost to pay a freelancer or the time it takes for you to research & write an article. The return is your expected earnings based on your estimation.

For example, to write an article on the best TVs, it takes you five hours. And you value your time at $20 per hour. That means your investment is $100 (= 5 * $20). You estimate the earnings for the article to be $180, which means your Return On Investment is 1.8x.

Consider you have the four more campaigns in your head. After getting the investment and return for each article, you have the following overview:

Return on Investment ROI for affiliate marketing
How to use Return on Investment (ROI) to help prioritize your articles

The highest Return On Investment has the ‘Best Laptop’ campaign, as it yields the highest return for your time.

Best practice is to set yourself a minimum hurdle (like 2.0x). Then only pursue campaigns with Return On Investment above that value. That ensures that you utilize your time as efficient as possible.

Thank you for reading through our insights to create the best product comparison chart. Any open questions? Email me at

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